• ULEB Cup Quarter Finals
  • Israeli League 2nd
  • Israeli Cup Champion
  • League Cup 3rd
# Name Position Height Nationality Birthday
4Matan NaorForward1.95Israel03.11.1980
5Horace JenkinsGuard1.86USA14.10.1974
6Dror HagagGuard1.78Israel31.12.1978
7Jurica GolemacCenter2.09Croatia/Slovenia29.05.1977
8Erez MarckovicCenter2.07Israel10.07.1978
9Terence MorrisForward2.07USA11.11.1979
10Mario AustinCenter2.06USA26.02.1982
11Guy PninyForward2.00Israel04.09.1983
12 Meir TapiroGuard1.92Israel28.03.1975
13Moti MoskovichForward2.02Israel23.12.1985
14Avishi DeriGuard1.93Israel02.07.1988
15Timmy BowersGuard1.88USA09.01.1982


During the summer of 2006, Hapoel Jerusalem fired Coach Erez Edelstein. Dan Shamir, who served as an assistant coach for Maccabi Tel Aviv, took his place. Shamir signed three new foreign players to join Tamar Slay and Mario Austin: center Jurica Golemac, point guard Ed Cotta, and guard Timmy Bowers (who was the Israeli League Player of the Year in 2005-2006). The team later released Slay and Cotta and replaced them with forward Terence Morris and point guard Horace Jenkins. Hapoel also signed Israeli players Dror Hajaj and Guy Pnini, who joined Meir Tapiro, Matan Naor and Erez Markovich.


The season opened with the first ever Winner Cup tournament, which was held in Malha. Hapoel was defeated by Ironi Ashkelon in the semifinals.

The signing of Morris in December proved to be crucial for the team. Hapoel finished second in the league, with Morris being named Defensive Player of the Year and Austin being named All-League First Team.

Hapoel faced Bnei Hasharon in the Final Four Semifinals and won the game 96-83. The team met defending champion Maccabi Tel Aviv in the final. Hapoel dominated the the first half, but Maccabi Tel Aviv got back in the game after Tapiro was fouled out on a controversial call.

On the last play of the game, Sharon Sasson from Maccabi missed a shot, but Jamie Arnold took the rebound, scored and got fouled. It was Maccabi first lead in the game, with 2.2 seconds remaining. Hapoel lost the last ball, and Maccabi won 80-78 in one of the Israeli League's greatest final games ever.


Hapoel Jerusalem had an excellent tournament in the Israeli State Cup. The team qualified for the Cup Final, facing Bnei Hasharon. Hapoel dominated the game from start to finish, winning 103-85. Hapoel won the cup for the first time since 1997.


Hapoel participated in the ULEB Cup and was drawn to Group C. Hapoel qualified for the Round of 16, facing Latvian champion Ventspils. Hapoel won the two games against Ventspils and qualified for the quarterfinals.

In the quarterfinals Hapoel met Zleznik Belgrade. Hapoel won the first game at home 88-79, but lost the game in Belgrade 88-70. Hapoel was eliminated from Europe.

Back to Top